Get lost in the Shadows…

Mell Corcoran’s Series of Shadows will take you on a journey through the streets of Los Angeles and beyond. Follow Detective Lou Donovan as she navigates her way through grizzly cases, a personal life up-ended and a whole new world that she never knew existed.

Shadows of Doubt


Los Angeles County’s best Detective, Lou Donovan and her partner Vinny DeLuca are thrust into a case where every twist and turn reeks of a possible serial killer on the loose. It’s a case Detective Donovan was never supposed to be a part of, but once inside, there was no getting out.

Have you ever been in far too deep to turn away?

Welcome to the world of Detective Donovan. With a little help from her best friend Caroline, an assistant medical examiner for the Los Angeles County Coroner’s Office, they work to put the pieces together and solve the case.
The deeper they dig, the more layers are uncovered. Add to the mix a mysterious and handsome stranger that throws Lou way off her game. Soon they will discover there are others, outside the normal channels of law enforcement, who have more power and are far more deadly. Donovan’s fearless approach to crime has caught up with her and what was once a usual suspects case has now become life or death.
Shadows of Doubt is the first novel in the highly addicting Series of Shadows.

Shadows of Deceit


It takes more than a near-death experience to keep Detective Lou Donovan off the job. Three headless bodies are discovered in the empty house of a high-profile Colombian coffee mogul putting a notorious drug cartel at the top of the suspect list. Or is that the perpetrator’s intent?

Three bodies. No heads. No clues.

Lou and her team find themselves dancing on the edge of an international incident where every twist and turn uncovers a tangled web of bloody lies. When the absence of evidence is their strongest lead, she must find a way to solve the case while navigating a minefield that threatens to expose the people she has come to love.

Shadows of Deceit is the second installment in a Series of Shadows that will take readers on an unforgettable thrill ride.

Shadows May Fall


There is no rest for the weary, as seasoned homicide detective Lou Donovan learns the hard way. Immediately following Lou’s work on a string of complex murders, she finds herself faced with the task of finding a new killer with some seriously twisted methods. An adult film executive becomes the first unwitting victim of a killer just beginning a psychotic spree. As Lou meticulously grazes each new murder scene—scenes that send every other detective ducking for the bathroom—Lou and her new partner must follow their instincts to a dark and deadly place.

Someone will fall.

The third installment of the Series of Shadows saga, Shadows May Fall, follows the series’ beloved detective as she faces new challenges, both professional and personal. Will Lou sort out her tangled life before a killer slips through her fingers, or will her unresolved emotions result in a tragic fate for those around her?
Shadows May Fall is the third novel in a Series of Shadows.



Barnes & Noble



Barnes & Noble



Barnes & Noble

Book of the Month August 2015

Shadows of Doubt and Shadows of Deceit have been voted Book of the Month for August 2015 and September 2015 respectively.

Shadows of Doubt kept me guessing until about half way through the book as to who Max really was. There were times that I thought I knew but wasn’t 100% sure. The suspense of learning just who he and his team represented, the chase of the killer, the connections between families and the devotion of love made this book a real page turner. I hope that Author Mell Corcoran will award us with a continuation, especially since the ending left plenty of room for just about anything to happen.

Martha A. Cheves - Charlotte, NC